How to Get a Library Card
The Chickasha Public Library will issue a free library card with borrowing privileges to any individual four years of age or older who lives, works, or attends school in Grady County, or who has a Grady County mailing address. Those who reside outside of Grady County may purchase a borrower’s card for $25 annually. The replacement charge for a lost card is 50¢. Payment can be made by either cash or check.
Each person requesting a card must show an official photo ID, such as a state ID, passport, driver's license, school, military, or tribal ID, and proof of a current Grady County mailing address. In the case of a child, a parent’s or legal guardian's ID will be required. Persons must present their library card or photo ID to borrow materials.
Circulating items may be checked out for two weeks, and may be renewed twice unless others are waiting. Renewals may be made in person, by telephone, or by signing in to an individual account on the Library’s webpage. E-books may be downloaded for either 7 or 14 days. Magazines may be checked out for two weeks, except for the current issue, which must be used in the Library. Newspapers are to be used in the Library.
E-books are available through the Oklahoma Virtual Library (also available on the Libby app) and check out for either 7 or 14 days. Virtual items are automatically deleted from the device when they are due and do not accrue fines.
Material requests can be made for items that the Library does not have. Requests may be either purchased or borrowed from another library.
Extended Use Fees
Extended Use Fees are 20¢ per day per item, excluding Sundays and holidays, and begin after a three-day grace period. No Fee is charged for a book due on a Saturday if it is deposited in the book slot before Monday morning’s opening time. Extended Use Fees accumulate on each overdue book until the book is returned, until the Library is informed that it is lost and it is paid for, or until the Fee equals one year of overdue charges. Payment can be made by either cash or check.
No person may check out materials if their total amount owed exceed $6.00. In lieu of paying an Extended Use Fee, a person may volunteer for assigned tasks at the Library. For every one hour volunteered, the Library will reduce the Extended Use Fee balance by $7.00. Volunteer schedules must be mutually agreed upon by the staff and the customer. Children under ten years of age must be accompanied by a parent and may not volunteer for more than one hour at a time.
Lost or Mutilated Materials
If Library materials are lost or damaged beyond repair, the person is charged the cost of the item plus a $5 processing fee in addition to any Extended Use Fee owed. If a damaged item can be repaired, it will be done at no cost. No refunds will be given for lost material payments. Any person who willfully and intentionally destroys library materials will be banned from checking out materials for one year.
The Library may have amnesty periods from time to time.
Virtual cards also are available to any individual four years of age or older who lives, works, or attends school in Grady County, or who has a Grady County mailing address. Virtual cards can not check out physical items, but they give access to the Library's virtual material, including ebooks through the Oklahoma Virtual Library, as well as the databases and resources on the Library's website. Please allow 24 hours (excluding Saturdays) for library staff to process virtual card applications.